We cannot advise you what to do with your old Will. However, when you create your Will using the Safewill platform and sign it according to our detailed instructions, the document will revoke all previous Wills created by you in Australia. Despite this, many customers still choose to destroy older versions of their Wills so there is no ambiguity around which document is valid.
Once you sign your new Will you need to store the document in a secure location. The original signed document is what will be used to apply for Probate with the Supreme Court.
Safewill also allows you to securely store a digital copy of your signed Will, giving you the added peace of mind that your Will can always be located if the original goes missing. You can even notify your executor that your Will is stored with us, providing an added measure of security that your document can be accessed by those who need it when they need it.
Article is closed for comments.